Call for Submissions: 2023 Vine Awards


January 11, 2023

The annual Vine Awards for Canadian Jewish Literature recognize works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, young adult/children’s literature and history with $10,000 prizes, bringing the best of contemporary Jewish writing to the Canadian public and supporting literary talent.


A generous donation by the Lillian and Norman Glowinsky Family Foundation continues their support for Canadian Jewish literature, a tradition they established with the Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Awards in 2004. These Awards, originally called the Canadian Jewish Book Awards, were founded in 1988 by Adam Fuerstenberg whose ambition was to celebrate excellence in Canadian Jewish writing. The Koffler Centre of the Arts has been managing the Awards for the last 27 years. The Vine Awards for Canadian Jewish Literature continue Fuerstenberg’s original ambition, bringing increased awareness of the Canadian Jewish canon to the public, as well as supporting and celebrating Canadian books and writers.


The Vine Awards for Canadian Jewish Literature recognize books in five categories: Fiction, History, Non-Fiction, Poetry, and Young Adult/Children’s Literature.

We are pleased to announce that the Call for Submissions for the Vine Awards for 2023 is now open. The submission deadline is February 17, 2023. Literary works published in 2021 will be considered for the 2023 Vine Awards.


  • Writer must be Canadian (permanent resident or citizen) OR the submission must have significant Canadian content.
  • Writer must be Jewish OR the submission must have significant Jewish content.
  • Submission must have been released to the public in the previous calendar year (2022).
  • Submissions must be easily available/accessible to the public – i.e. be available for purchase or download in retail or e-commerce outlets.
  • Previously submitted work and reissues are not eligible.*
  • Posthumous submissions will not be accepted – all artists/authors must be alive at the time of submissions.
  • All submissions must be in English or French language to be eligible, either originally or in translation (in the case of translation, all other eligibility criteria apply to original author and not translator).
  • Edited volumes will not be eligible.
  • All books must carry an ISBN number.
  • No self-published books shall be eligible (that is, titles authored by any senior officer of the book’s publishing firm and/or books underwritten in part or in whole by the author).

    Please download the entry form here.

Entry Guidelines

1) Four (4) hard copies of each submission must be mailed or couriered to:

PenguinPickUp Liberty Village
ATTN: Alicia Baum XUJA – NAQ8
171 East Liberty St, Unit 137
Toronto ON, M6K 3P6


2) Completed entry form (DOWNLOAD HERE)

3) A current author biography

4) A high-resolution jpeg of the author

5) A high-resolution jpeg of the book cover

6) $50 entry fee per title submitted (VISA, MasterCard, cash and cheques are accepted. Cheques can be made out to the Koffler Centre of the Arts and mailed to: 180 Shaw Street, Unit 104-105, Toronto, ON M6J 2W5) *Please note for books being sent from outside of Canada that the Koffler is not responsible for the cost of shipping, customs or duty. Should a package arrive with customs or duty owing, it will be declined and returned to sender. Please ensure that all fees are pre-paid upon sending.

Books will be considered in one category only – please consider carefully the category in which your submission belongs. Final categorization will be determined by the jury.

Categories and Prizes

A prize of $10,000 will be awarded to authors in the following categories:

  • Fiction: A novel, short-story collection, short story, or graphic novel of exemplary literary merit that is fictional.
  • History: A non-fiction work about a historical experience.
  • Non-Fiction: Biography, memoir, autobiography, graphic novel, short story, collection of short stories, or other prose writing that is based on facts, real events, and real people.
  • Poetry: A collection or single piece of writing composed in verse.*
  • Young Adult/Children’s Literature: Poetry or prose composed for readers under 16.
  • Poetry is awarded every three years. Poetry from 2019-2022 can be submitted.

Please view the Entry Guidelines and more information here.

Related Blog Posts

July 5, 2024

Summer is here and the Toronto Holocaust Museum wants you to dive into history through inspiring stories and meaningful dialogue.

June 10, 2024

Since the Toronto Holocaust Museum opened its doors one year ago, the Museum has been an essential space for dialogue, reflection, understanding, and remembrance.

June 7, 2024

A path to celebrating and understanding the Jewish experience in the arts.